Northern Ireland – Belfast

Northern Ireland

Hey guys! I will start my first post telling you about my trip to Belfast in Northern Ireland. It was a great experience and I could understand more about the Troubles, IRA and all the history things that happened there. Not only in Belfast, but I’ve been in Giant’s Causeway, which have the nicest view that I’ve ever seen. I hope you enjoy the pictures and feel free to tell me what you think. 🙂

I can’t continue this post without tell you about my travel partners. I had a pleasure to enjoy my trip with Bruno Fernando and Luciene.

DSC_0895 We took the bus in Cork City at 02:30 am,  we arrived in Dublin at 05:30,   took the bus to Belfast at 6 and arrived there around 08:30 am. When we arrived in Europa Bus Station, in Belfast, the first thing that we notice was the British flag in a building, than we could realize that we are in a Queen’s land.  DSC_0528

First we went  to the hostel – Lagan Backpackers Hostel – where everybody was friendly, specially the girl in the reception who gave us all the tips about the city and offer us a traditional and tasty English breakfast for 2 pounds (It’s almost the same of Irish Breakfast – ALMOST). After it, we decided to walk around the city. We visited the main tourist places, like The Botanical Garden, Ulster Museum (Where we could learn more about the history of Northern Ireland), the fancy buildings on City Centre, City Hall, Titanic Museum and The Big Fish statue.

DSC_0553 DSC_0589 DSC_0603 DSC_0609 DSC_0619 DSC_0654 DSC_0715

After all this walking, we took a black cab (because we don’t know where we could have this opportunity again) and the driver gave us a tour about The troubles, Bloody Sunday and the catholic position in the revolutions. We stopped in places where were murdered innocent people and people who were involved in the revolution. During the tour we could see paintings on the wall talking about this question in the country. Other thing that had impressed us was the gate which divide the city between Catholic (using Irish flag) and Protestant (using Union Flag).

DSC_0727 DSC_0737 DSC_0741 DSC_0743 DSC_0744 DSC_0745 DSC_0749

 

Even though this tense atmosphere in Belfast, people there are very friendly. If you need some information they help you with a smile on their face. The bad thing about the city is that every place close early, if you compare with republic of Ireland. I was waiting for the bus (at 3 am) believing that I could find a coffee shop or a place (like mac donald’s) which stay open 24 hours or during the night and I didn’t find a place like this, so I had to wait my bus with Luciene in a bus stop.

Leave a Reply

